Home > Uncategorized > Progress report for the weekend

Progress report for the weekend

Yesterday I found myself alone in my apartment. My parents went abroad so I didn’t get back to spend the weekend with them as I usually do. Although my roommate Shira said she would stay – she didn’t at the end since her boyfriend’s dog was dying or some shit.

I thought about how strange it is that all my good friends have boy/girl friends and I’m the only one single. It doesn’t disturb that much except for the fact that I have no one to go sarging with! Even my cousin who was the greatest wingman I ever had, has a girlfriend (and I don’t like her, she’s a bitch. but thats another story..).  I have some friends back in Tel Aviv which are single and can serve as good wingmen, but this weekend I made a mistake by thinking that if I’d stay in Jerusalem and go sarging by myself I’ll have more success. Boy, I was wrong.

As the evening progressed , I found myself contemplating whether I should indeed go out alone. It was kinda weird and depressing – having a friend or two by your side to cheer you up is part of the fun, I thought. Eventually , I had a nice Facebook chat with a -female friend of mine who convinced me to finally go out. So I dressed up and went to my favorite bar , a bar that witnessed me succeed before. As I’m walking , I stopped at some traffic lights with 3 chicks next to me. I had the perfect moment to open the set, but I chickened out , thought too much about what I should say, and the moment was gone. I continued walking to the bar and as I entered , I saw that the entire bar was filled – mostly with males or with females gathered by males. I felt a little strange and mostly pathetic staying there alone – as if everyone staring at me thinking “who is this looser…”. So I left after exactly 10 seconds, and had a small tour around the town center, skipped some club that had a long line in front of them – most of the people who waited there were 8 years younger than me anyway, that’s what I thought , also it was just a stupid excuse. The truth was that  I wasn’t really in the mood…

Eventually, on my way back home I ran into a group of young american tourists who looked for directions. I ‘opened’ the (mixed) set, tried my version of the jealous girlfriend on them and it went pretty cool but I didn’t know how to continue from there – they were a large group and  I walked to the opposite direction so I thought it would look stupid and needy if I walked them to their destination.. So we parted by saying goodbye, and I returned home thinking about what a looser I was by not continuing and escalating the situation with them.

So from this evening I’m taking the following lessons:

  • Be more decisive – don’t be afraid to look awkward – you have nothing to loose , especially if you are not familiar with the people involved
  • Don’t underestimate yourself in the conversation – there was a part in the conversation where I joked that Jerusalem is the most boring city in the world – just a very few clubs and bars. so one of them responded – “so where do you hang out?” and I said “By sitting at home, crying”. Of course it was a joke, but it was a joke that portrayed me as a looser and of course didn’t contribute to making me look alpha.
That’s it for now, peace! 🙂
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment